Alright, before you all collectively roll your eyes before continuing on, let me preface what I’m about to say with the admission of my previous stance on Anne Hathaway. To be honest, when I realized that the Hollywood actress had landed the iconic roles of both Catwoman and Fantine, I complained like a spoiled Upper East Side trust fund baby who couldn’t access his account for a last minute trip to France for Bastille Day.

My initial thought on the Batman movie was “why couldn’t they get Angelina Jolie, or at least someone with that kind of bad ass credibility?” And don’t get me started on the whole Les Miz thing…

After seeing The Dark Knight Rises, I gladly welcomed defeat. I walked in the theater a skeptic and left a raging fan. I mean, I always appreciated the actress in earlier roles that made her famous as a sort of dependable and likable Hollywood princess, and found her performances in other films like Brokeback Mountain and Rachel Getting Married to be indicative of something awesome to come. However, nothing prepared me for the amazing performance Anne Hathaway gave as Selina Kyle (Catwoman) in the finale to Christopher Nolan‘s Batman trilogy.

For the first time on screen, we witnessed the humanity behind Catwoman, and even sympathized with her basic human struggle to succeed- all the while trying to escape a troubled past. Yet Anne didn’t for one second let you think the character was weak, instead, she always gave you the sense that she had the upper hand, and would escape the movie’s events unscathed- at almost any cost. The unique sensuality she used with Christian Bale‘s Bruce Wayne was utterly delicious.Combine that with a sexy catsuit and a wardrobe that ranged from bohemian to an almost “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” ensemble, she was as versatile in her appearance as she was in the role itself.

As one of my friends put it a couple of days ago “its like she went from Molly Ringwald to Julia Roberts.” And that may be, but I feel like Anne Hathaway has not only come into her own, but she stands alone. Besides, could you see Julia Roberts kicking serious ass in a skin tight suit? Both played “villains” this year, but we only sympathized and fell in love with one.

