Richard Bosman "Pollack's Door"; photo courtesy of Hendershot Gallery

“Oh, I said Delancey and Chrystie” I told the cabbie as we pulled to a stop.

“Well this is Delancey” he huffed.

“Yeah, and we’re almost at the bridge.” I wasn’t in the mood for this. I had just spent over thirty minutes coming from the Upper West Side of Manhattan sitting in the back of a cab that smelt like the taco cart outside the Time & Life Building while it rained ferociously. “Fine!” I couldn’t stand the thought of another minute in the cab, so I paid my fair and walked in the mist to the Hendershot Gallery.

“There you are” said Vanessa. My dear friend had been at the gallery for over an hour before I finally made it. “You’re going to love this!” Vanessa grabbed my arm and quickly led me inside to the nearest glass of pinot grigio.

The exhibit, “Of Memory and Time” was nothing like I expected. Knowing James Hendershot’s passion for creating a total experience rather than just a collection of still lifes and random inanimate objects recycled as art, I knew I was in for a treat, what I experienced, was transformative. James Hendershot teamed up with composer Christopher Lancaster to create such total experiences for the works shown by David Pappaceno, Marie Vic, Carlo Van de Roer and Richard Bosman. 

Vanessa first led me to Richard Bosman’s three paintings; Magritte‘s Door, Duchamp‘s Door and Pollack’s Door. To the right of the paintings were headphones playing Mr. Lancaster’s music. As I stared at the three doors respectively, the added element of music began to paint an added layer to the story. I felt melancholic for a time that existed long before I was even born. I felt as if I had abandoned a part of myself along the road of life and was not permitted to return. While I love art and consider myself to be at least somewhat educated on the topic, I had never felt this way before. I was almost disturbed by the emotion.

Next we viewed Julie Tremblay’s mobile of hanging wax sculptures. These figures, all cast from the same mold, inexplicably breathed a different life. I couldn’t help but notice one such figure in the middle of the hanging mobile who seemed to swim like a mermaid being birthed out of coral.

Another favorite of mine from the exhibit was David Pappaceno’s “Skandinavisk Psysisk Terrang”. With a plain, bright yellow background and an effective use of mixed media, this piece, also paired with Mr. Lancaster’s music inspired energetic moods that both excite and confuse, but welcomely so.

Next, we went downstairs and viewed a distorted video on three walls by Nick Hooker. The video was a reworking of Grace JonesCorporate Cannibal“. For some reason, Vanessa and I just couldn’t leave this piece. We sat for a good thirty minutes staring in wonder and allowing ourselves to experience this weird and wonderful piece of art.

Also represented at the exhibit were Erik Olofsen with an amazing video installation, Carlo Van de Roer, Marie Vic, Arman, Christopher Astley, Matthew Brandt and Christopher Brooks.

The exhibit “Of Memory and Time” can be viewed at the Hendershot Gallery at 195 Chrystie Street until August 18.

