Glee‘s Darren Criss has been dazzling TV audiences with a sexy voice and a clean cut prep look that has the whole country taking notice, including some very sad gays who are upset that, although he’s adorably convincing onscreen, in real life, Darren Criss is, well… straight.

While examining the topic (ok I was really just googling images and listening to Glee tracks featuring my favorite new Gleek) I came across Perez Hilton‘s post covering the star’s recent cover on OUT Magazine. Perez’s post was titled “Darren Criss Comes Out” and started with the line “ugh we wish!”

While the celebrity blogger did go on to applaud Darren for his interview and television portrayal of an out teenager, I couldn’t help but focus on his statement “ugh we wish!” First of all… who is “we” and why do you so badly want this person to be gay? I mean, no offense to Perez, but I have a little hunch that if Mr. Criss did play for “our team” as so many of “us” put it, he probably wouldn’t be shooting him a text to join him for a candlelight dinner followed by a long walk anywhere.

I sort of liken it to my fantasy that Bradley Cooper‘s sexuality be more accommodating to my liking, but that would no sooner mean that I stood any more chance at happily ever after with the Hollywood hunk than a morbidly obese librarian in Bumblecock Ohio would. I’m just saying, Perez (Mario Armando Lavandeira Jr.) lives in his own, strange little world where outing celebrities and making premature and sometimes false announcements about others is alright.

Though it is now old news, some of you may not remember that the celebrity blogger was cited as being partially responsible for the outing of Lance Bass. When questioned about the issue, he replied “I don’t think it’s a bad thing. If you know something to be a fact, why not report it? Why is that still taboo?” Clearly the fact that his reporting sometimes hurts people doesn’t seem to phase him.

I stand by AfterEllen.com contributing writer Kim Ficera when she wrote of the topic-

“I have to question the character of a man who attacks others on such deeply personal levels, without provocation and for self-benefit, monetary or otherwise….If he’s emotionally incapable of exhibiting even the tiniest bit of compassion for closeted people, if he can’t be sensitive to the fact that coming out is a very personal decision and that the process can be difficult for some — especially celebrities — I feel sorry for him. If his juvenile behavior is his shtick, I think it makes him a much more pathetic figure, and one the gay and lesbian community should not support…If we support behavior like Hilton’s, we applaud shallowness, arrogance, rage and invasion of privacy, and risk becoming what we despise”                                                         

I personally feel bad for this man who is obviously so deprived of a satisfying love life within his own “community” that he has to publicly and unsuccessfully “wish” for certain heterosexual celebrities to play on his team. Even if Darren Criss pitched, Perez Hilton surely wouldn’t be catching. 


