Poutine is said to have originated in Quebec City in 1957 when a take-out customer at Lutin Qui Rit asked Fernand LaChance that cheese curds be thrown in a bag with his fries. The restauranteur quickly replied “ça va faire une maudite poutine!” or “that would make an unholy mess”.

Now, like most Americans upon hearing that the Canadian cuisine is made with fries, cheese curds and gravy, I discarded the food as not just an unholy mess, but an unappetizing one as well. That was until I paid my first visit this past week to Toronto, Ontario and had a chance to try it for myself.

Upon my arrival to Toronto, my good friend Elaina Moreau promptly introduced me to her neighborhood Tim Horton‘s and her neighborhood poutinerie. I was hooked. Smoke’s Poutinerie is a quickly growing food chain specializing in… you guessed it, poutine! I literally couldn’t get enough of the stuff. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been a fan of cheese curds. My brother-in-law Matt introduced me to some amazing cheese curds from Wisconsin, and we even sold deep fried cheese curds at the Long John Silvers/ A&W that I worked at in high school. I just never realized how amazing they would taste; melted, by way of gravy, over french fries. Truly amazing stuff!

